The Rosalyn Terborg-Penn Book Prize annually honors an outstanding single-authored book focused on gender and sexuality in Africa and/or the African diaspora submitted by or on behalf of a scholar, activist, and/or artist. The award committee will consider books on any period and from any discipline published in English, and is particularly interested in books that are methodologically and conceptually innovative and demonstrate academic excellence. Nominees for this prize who also meet the qualifications for ASWAD’s Sterling Stuckey Prize or First Book Prize may submit their work for consideration by all committees. The winner of the Rosalyn Terborg-Penn Book Prize will receive a $1,000 award. Funding for the prize is made possible by a substantial contribution from four anonymous donors.

  1. Nominations for The Rosalyn Terborg-Penn Book Prize must include a short description of the book and its significance. Nominators or authors must submit a physical copy of the book for each member of the award committee. Anthologies, encyclopedias, and other edited volumes will not be considered.
  2. Books with a copyright date within the previous calendar year are eligible for the award.

Please Note: Entries must be received by June 1, 2019 to be eligible for the 2019 award. Submitted copies of books will not be returned.

Mail four copies of the nominated book to the following:

Benjamin Talton
923 Gladfelter Hall
Department of History
Temple University
Philadelphia, PA 19122

Finalists and awardees will be announced on the ASWAD website in November 2019 and recognized during a ceremony at the November 2019 ASWAD biennial meeting in Williamsburg, VA.

Please email with any questions.

Comments are closed.