Theme: “Citizenship and National Politics: Race in the 21st Century”

Dates: August 7, 2018 to August 11, 2018

Location: Houston, Texas

Conference At A Glance:

  • Evening Tuesday, 7th: “Welcome Reception”
  • All day Wednesday 8th, Thursday 9th, and Friday 10th: Sessions
  • Friday 10th evening: Closing banquet
  • Morning and Afternoon Saturday 11th: Optional cultural excursion

Registration Information

The conference registration fee is US $285. The conference registration fee for students/Professors Emeriti US $200. This fee includes: opening reception, all coffee breaks, and closing banquet. You must be a member of ALARA to participate in the conference.

The conference registration fee should be paid by Friday, April 13, 2018, either online  or via check or money order.

Click Here to Register

Early registration is highly encouraged. Late registration (April 14 – May 14 only) is US $300.00; US $215.00 for students/Professors Emeriti.

The conference program will be e-mailed in advance to registered participants. If not paying online, checks and money orders must be made out to ALARA and sent to:

  • ALARA 2018
  • Dr. Antonio D. Tillis
  • College of Liberal Arts and Social Sciences
  • University of Houston, Agnes Arnold Hall
  • 3553 Cullen Boulevard, Room 402
  • Houston, TX 77204-3000
  • Email:

Transportation and Hotel Information

  • All conference activities will take place at the Hilton University of Houston (
  • Room rate is a discounted $139 per night for single and double occupancy, no triple available, excluding the state and local tax of 17%. This rate is available from August 7th to August 12th. (GROUP NAME: ALARA2018)
  • Recommended Airport is William P. Hobby (HOU), which is roughly 10 minutes from the Hilton UH and ~$15.00 by UBER
  • Parking is available on site at a discounted conference rate of $10 overnight (normally $20) and a daily rate of $5 (normally $12) for over 4 1/2 hours.

Conference Organizing Committee

Prof. Dorothy Mosby – Mount Holyoke College
Prof. Daniel Mosquera – Union College
Prof. Luisa Ossa – LaSalle University
Prof. Sonja Stephenson Watson – University of Texas, Arlington
Prof. Antonio Tillis – Univeristy of Houston
Prof. Sheridan Wigginton – California Lutheran University

Comments are closed.